The Jack Shelley Scholarship is presented by the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association to recognize outstanding promise in the field of broadcasting.

The award is named for Jack Shelley, who served for many years as anchor and News Director at WHO/Des Moines and later served as Professor Emeritus at Iowa State University.  He was a founder of the MBJA’s predecessor organization, the Northwest Broadcast News Association and of the National Association of Radio News Directors (now the Radio Television Digital News Association) and served as its third president.  He was the first president of the Associated Press Broadcasters and was for two decades the  executive secretary of the Iowa Broadcast News Association.  That organization’s career achievement award is named for Jack.  And when the Radio-Television Journalism Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication established its Distinguished Journalism Educator award, Jack was the first recipient.

He was a regular attendee of MBJA (then NBNA) conventions and personally handed out the scholarship award in his name to the winners until just a few years before his death in 2010 at the age of 98.

The Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association awards one $1,250 scholarship each year to be used for broadcast education. Applicants must be full-time college or university undergraduate students with an anticipated graduation date of the August following the date of the award or later. The scholarship is awarded based on the following three criteria:

  • Dedication to broadcast journalism as a career
  • Academic achievement
  • Experience in the field of broadcast journalism (including internships, part-time or full-time jobs and volunteer work)

Shelley_ApplicationTo apply, fill out this online application form and submit it before the deadline.  The winner will be contacted and invited to attend the Midwest Journalism Conference where the scholarship will be awarded. The deadline to apply for the scholarship is March 1, 2018.

Shelley Scholarship Recipients

2017 Celeste LaCoursiere U of South Dakota
2016 Benjamin Schoenkin U of Nebr, Lincoln
2015 Kathleen Serie U of South Dakota
2014 Kortny Sterrett U of South Dakota
2013 Cassie Bartlett U of South Dakota
2012 Ellen Reiss Loras College, Dubuque
2011 Felicia Carner Loras College, Dubuque
2010 Kealey Bultena Braa USD, Vermillion
2009 Shane Delaney U of St. Thomas, St. Paul
2008 Kevin Keen U of Minnesota, Minneapolis
2007 Jacob Buckingham U of Nebraska, Omaha
2006 Chris Welch U of Nebraska, Lincoln
2005 Brenna Lynch Wartburg College, Waverly
2004 Tina Damagala University of Mary, Bismarck
2003 Adam Ghassemi Drake U, Des Moines
2002 Meagan Clarke U of Wisconsin, River Falls
2001 Katie Juhl U of Nebraska, Lincoln
2000 Travis Graven Wartburg College, Waverly
1999 Tiffany Webber Iowa State U, Ames
1998 Zoua Vang U of Minnesota, Minneapolis
1997 Melissa Mrachek U of Wisc, Eau Claire
1996 Sara J. Kagay Drake U, Des Moines
1995 Jennifer Diedrich UND, Grand Forks
1994 Leah Moore U of Minnesota, Minneapolis
1993 Gina Katzmark U of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
1992 Jodene Weber U of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
1991 Todd Schumacher U of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
1990 Bernadette Rice Creighton U, Omaha
1989 Kelly Nutt Iowa State U, Ames
1988 Robin Maher U of Iowa, Iowa City
1987 Kent Peterson U of Iowa, Iowa City
1986 Margaret Morris Johnson UND, Grand Forks
1984 Jeffrey Stein U of Iowa, Iowa City



Comments are closed.

#cred {display: none;} #nav_menu { font-size: 1.0em; }